PRESENT CONTINUOUS

Ex. 1 Complete the sentences.
Use the present continuous form of the verb in brackets.

1. You are using my mobile phone.
2. My dad is washing his car.
3. It isn’t raining today.
4. Who is she chatting to now.
5. What are you doing at the moment.
6. We are sitting on the train.
7. The students are having lunch in the canteen.
8. ‘Are you making dinner?’ ‘Yes, I am..’

Ex.2 Present Continuous — Positive and Negative
Make the present continuous, positive or negative

1) (I / study at the moment)
I am studying at the moment.
I am not studying at the moment.
2) (I / not / sleep)
I am not sleeping.
I am sleeping.
3) (you / play badminton tonight)
You are playing badminton tonight.
You aren’t playing badminton tonight.
4) (we / watch TV)
We are watching TV.
We aren’t watching TV.
5) (she / not / work in Spain)
She inn’t working in Spain.
She is working in Spain.
6) (he / not / wait for the bus)
He isn’t waiting for the bus.
He is waiting for the bus.
7) (they / read)
They are reading.
They aren’t reading.
8)(we / not / go to the cinema tonight)
We aren’t going to the cinema tonight.
We are going to the cinema tonight.
9) (you / not / read the newspaper)
You aren’t reading the newspaper.
You are reading the newspaper.
10) (she / eat chocolate)
She is eating chocolate.
She isn’t eating chocolate.
11) (I / not / live in Paris)
I am not living in Paris.
I am living in Paris.
12) (we / study French)
We are studying French.
We aren’t studying French.
13) (they / not / leave now)
They aren’t leaving now.
They are leaving now.
14) (they / live in London)
They are living in London.
They aren’t living in London.
15) (he / work in a restaurant now)
He is working in restaurant now.
He isn’t working in restaurant now.
16) (I / not / meet my father at four)
I am not meeting my father at four.
I am meeting my father at four.
17) (she / not / drink tea now)
She is not drinking tea now.
She is drinking tea now.
18) (she / play the guitar)
She is playing the guitar.
She isn’t playing the guitar.
19) (we / cook)
We are cooking.
We aren’t cooking.
20) (he / walk to school now)
He is walking to school now.
He isn’t walking to school now.

Ex.3 Continuous — Questions
Make the present continuous — ‘yes / no’ or ‘wh’ questions

1) What time are you going to the cinema?
2) Why are you studying
3) When are you leaving?
4) Are you smoking?
5) Is he playing tennis later?
6) Are you going shopping at the weekend?
7)Are you drinking wine?
8) What are you drinking now?
9) What are you thinking now?
10) Is she working in an office at the moment?
11) Are they studying Portuguese?
12) What time is she coming?
13)Where are you playing tennis tonight?
14) Are you meeting your friends on Friday?
15)Are you reading now?
16) Where are you going now?
17) What are you doing?
18)Is she living in London?
19) Are they studying now?
20) Are you eating cake?

Ex. 4 Choose Present Continuous or Present Simple
Choose the present simple or present continuous — it could be positive, negative or question

1) You don’t like chocolate.
2) She is not studying at the moment.
3) We often go to the cinema.
4) He usually doesn’t do his homework.
5) They don’t eat rice every day.
6) We don’t study every night.
7) Do you like spicy food?
8)Does she go to Scotland often?
9) Is he eating now?
10) We aren’t going to the cinema this weekend.
11) The are studying now.
12)I am cleaning the kitchen every day.
13) She is working every Sunday.
14) We aren’t sleeping now.
15) I am going on holiday tomorrow.
16) How long is she staying in London?
17) I often read at night.
18)We don’t drink much wine.

Present Simple

Ex. 1 Change the verb into the correct form:

  1. I don’t ride horses.
  2. You don’t sell cars.
  3. He doesn’t bring gifts.
  4. She doesn’t take pictures.
  5. It doesn’t cost so much.
  6. We don’t seem so happy.
  7. They don’t buy new prodacts.
  8. Michel doesn’t dance.
  9. Michel doesn’t run fast.
  10. Tim and Kate don’t work every day.
  11. Lucas and Clara don’t eat meat.
  12. I don’t swim much.
  13. You don’t ski at all.
  14. It doesn’t hurt.
  15. We don’t give up.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *